Help: Cause of death and Rigor Mortis

soyi

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello everyone,

It's my first time here so please excuse me if I posted in the wrong forum.

My cat (male, 7 years and 10 months old) passed away on March 15. We had had his company since he was 1 months old. And he had literally slept in the same bed with us for 7 years and 9 months and he was an unreplaceable part of our life. We are trying to accept the fact that he's gone but what has been bothering us is the treatment by the vet and the way how he passed away. He was seriously ill when my husband sent him to the vet, he vomited a few times the night before he's sent to the vet and he couldn't even stand up, usually he was around 4.5kg but he lost 1 kg of weight (sharp weight loss within days, turned out to be dehydration) by the time my husband noticed he was sick. Unfortunately those days I was away and my husband was busy working out of home all day long and the cat wasn't found being sick until it was really serious.

Then he was sent to the vet the next morning and they did some check for him: x-Ray, blood test, urine test etc. then they quickly diagnosed that he had diabetes based on his test results. He was treated with physiological saline solution intravenous and insulin. The vet suggested his situation was getting better after 1 day of treatment, which they called "intensive care": treatment mentioned above and blood sugar check every hour or so... During our visit, the cat looked really weak and wouldn't eat, although he managed to stand up upon seeing me, but promptly dragged back down by the pipe inserted in his foreleg. :'(