Help!! Beloved Cat Just Diagnosed with Pancreatitis/Kidney Failure

iloveprincess

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
My beloved Tigger was diagnosed with early stages of renal failure 3 months ago. He was on a crappy dry Iams diet, but after his diagnosis, I switched him to Honest Kitchen's Prowl, mixed with Wellness canned (Turkey formula). I also added a recommended renal supplement.

He seemed to be doing well, until he kept throwing up food/hairballs. It would happen intermittently, a few times a week. At first, I thought it was just a hairball, but when recommended hairball remedies didn't seem to work, I took him to the vet yesterday. The vet just informed me his fPLI level is 50 +. The vet said the cause is unknown and recommended an ultrasound to detect any possible tumor (nothing abnormal was felt during the exam). The only other option he recommended was prednisone. I'm just wondering A) if the ultrasound is absolutely necessary (I am an unemployed student and really can not afford $400 for an ultrasound). And, B), if those are truly my only 2 treatment plans? Aside from the vomiting and eating a little slower/less, he seems completely fine (his kidney levels were slightly more elevated than last time). 

I'm panicked about this since I LOVE my kitty, DEARLY. I have to inform the vet today of my decision, please offer your advice, anyone else that has been in this horrible situation. Is his diet okay and are there any other supplements I should start adding?

Thank yoU!!

nwfn

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
I am sorry you are in such a hard position. I was in your shoes recently with my cat Duchess (though not with kidney failure/pancreatitis), who passed away, so I understand the anxiety and guilt you may be feeling right now.