Help! 1,200 Mile Car Trip

CannibalCheshire

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
My kitty Snow and I are moving in a couple weeks. Our new home is 1,200 miles away and I'm driving. This is my first time traveling with a pet. I want to make this move as easy as I can for Snow, but I'm not sure what to do.

Snow has been absolutely terrified the couple times I've had to bring her to the vet. Non-stop crying, shaking so much the carrier moved, and even pooping halfway through the ride. I recently bought a bigger cage (one made for a medium sized dog) thinking that it would be more comfortable than a small cat carrier. I've kept the cage set up, open, inside the house for a while now. She loves it so much, that's where she sleeps. Some toys and her favorite blanket are in there.

I've driven Snow around the block a couple times. Once inside the cage in the back seat, the other out of the cage in the front seat. Both times she was in her harness and had a leash on whenever a door was open. I took the leash off once we were going, and kept the harness on the whole time. She liked being free and able to explore better, obviously, but I'm pretty sure it wouldn't be safe having her up there for that long of a car ride. When she was in the cage, she started crying almost immediately. She wasn't shaking like she did in the carrier, but I could tell she was distressed.

Does anyone have any advice they could share with me? I'd like to make this trip at least somewhat bearable for Snow...

Furballsmom

Cat Devotee
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
Hi - It sounds like you've already accomplished some big forward progress - good for you!!
Take a look at these articles, (I don't know if you're moving into an apartment but a lot of the tips apply to a house)

Also there are a lot of calming products on the market besides feliway, (which doesn't always work with some cats) that have a wide variety of different ingredients so hopefully you find something that helps her to feel better.