Heart Healthy Cookbook Recs Needed

sivyaleah

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
So.

My husband had a heart attack Wednesday. He's ok. I was home when it happened recovering from a pulled tooth (thankfully) and recognized what was happening and got him over to the hospital pronto. He had an angioplasty and stent placed. Came home Friday.

We eat pretty darn healthy at home as it is because I myself started doing that last year (I've lost 42 pounds over the year) but he'd been slacking off on his diabetes mediation (he has Type II - which I suspected he wasn't taking) and sneaking foods he should not have been eating when I wasn't home (which I also suspected). This event certainly has put fear into him to say the least.

Anyway, the one thing which I could use help with recommendations for heart healthy cookbooks because while I already know how to cut back on bad fats and know about portion control etc what I'm not good at is sodium control for instance because this wasn't an issue for me specifically and prior to this, wasn't aware it was for him either. I'd also like help help with swapping out fats and using other items (like applesauce or yogurt in lieu of oils in baking etc.).

This is going to be really necessary going forward. I have no idea what cookbooks and/or websites to use to find good, interesting heart healthy recipes as opposed to just "healthy" recipes. Let alone ones I personally will find edible also OMG

Kindle versions a plus!

Thanks!

artiemom

Artie, my Angel; a part of my heart
Top Cat
Purraise
OMG 😮. ((((Hugs)))):grouphug:

I do not think I can be of much help. When I was cooking for my dad, I focused on no/low salt, salt free cooking; making things from scratch. I would skim soups, buy extra lean things. It was really tuff.

I heard the American Heart Association has a pretty good cookbook. Wonder how an old Weight Watchers cookbook would be? If you can find one.

betsygee

Just what part of meow don't you understand.
Staff Member
Purraise