Have To Stop Feeding My Ferals

annekarina53

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
I just got a letter from the city telling me that I am the owner of all the feral cats I care for. And it was threatening. If I just stop feeding them will they go away? I can't bear to attempt to take them to have them put down. The city won't come get cats. I clean up after feeding them and wash everything. I don't leave food out except where the owners of the property where the cats belong said I could leave food. But one just one neighbor got nasty about it and now I'm at a loss as to what to do. I don't have time for this. I've been feeding these animals for seven years. They were here before I came here and were cared for by a lady who died. I TNR'd them and made sure they were warm in the winter and so on. I caught this woman who wants them gone attempting to put red pepper powder around their areas on their own property today. I think there is something seriously wrong here.

wingwalker

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Personally I think feral cats will move on if the the food source is gone. But if feeding feral cats is prohibited in your area, they wont find food elsewhere. I would keep on feeding secretly. You are not alone, there are many people that go great lengths and take great risks to feed their colonies. Nothing can stop them. I do not feed ferals, I am a trapper (for TNR!), but I work with a lot of feeders and most of them deserve a lot of respect for what they do. If you need support from other folks caring for feral cats, check out the FB group "Trap-Neuter-Return Community".

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

annekarina53

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise