Has Anyone Had Experience With Thyroid Surgery Rather Than Radiation Therapy For Hyperthyroid

Jojo&Tutu

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise
Has anyone had experience with thyroid surgery rather than using radiation therapy for hyperthyroid? I will find out today if my cat has hyperthyroid. Her vet saw a little enlargement of her thyroid on ultrasound and her kidney values are normal in spite of kidney disease both of which can indicate hyperthyroid. I am worried about the effects of radiation on her kidneys and throats from radioactive treatment and I cannot be exposed as I have a radiation injury and am at risk so I was wondering about other options. Medicating seems not to stop the thyroid from growing larger thus causing a worse problem later so it doesn't seem a good idea. Is there any microscopic surgery that prevents damage to the parathyroid?

denice

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
I have no experience with this. Posting will bump it back up to the top and keep it on the first page. I know a lot of people do have experience with this.

pharber-murphy

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise
I don't have any experience of this either. Mr. Grimsby (pictured) had a radioactive iodine injection because he couldn't tolerate the drugs either. I didn't even know there was an option to have surgery! Good luck with your loved one. Please let us know how it goes.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

Jojo&Tutu

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise
I don't have any experience of this either. Mr. Grimsby (pictured) had a radioactive iodine injection because he couldn't tolerate the drugs either. I didn't even know there was an option to have surgery! Good luck with your loved one. Please let us know how it goes.
Decided on I 131 treatment
See "hyperthyroid in my cat just being diagnosed" thread