harnesses and leashes...

mlopez

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
I have two Blue Siamese kittens 51/2 months old and I am going to keep them indoors. I would like to start leash training them.I would appreciate some tips on getting them used to a harness (how to choose a good one), a leash (how long), and how to train them to walk on a leash. Any literature you suggest would be helpful.
--------
Monica

Anne

Site Owner
Staff Member
Admin
Purraise
I'm afraid I have no experience on that one. As for literature, "Think Like a Cat" by Pam Jonson-Bennett has a good review of the procedure (as well as any other aspect of cat care). You can find it through the bookshop in this site -
http://www.thecatsite.com/shop/booksbehavior.html

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

mlopez

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Thank you,
I will check out the local bookstore and see what I find. I will keep you posted on anything useful.
________
Monica

deb25

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I've heard to put the harness on and let the cat get used to that before you add the leash. I recently tried a harness and leash with my 4 year old cat to get him to the vet, because there was no way I was going to get him into the crate. I carried him, but he didn't object to the set-up, and he hates anything like this usually.

pique

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise