Getting a Kitten raised on Raw Food!

QueenMojo

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hi all, getting a new kitten in just under 3 weeks time and she's been raised on a special diet... she has to have 5-10% bones, 80-85% meat, 10% organs. She has full day-old chicks, poussin and quails (I'm meant to buy them frozen, and defrost them naturally, and give them to her whole?) alongside chicken/duck/lamb liver/hearts/stomach/kidney, and to feed less occasionally minced rabbit, eggs, goats milk, prawns, haddock, trout and hake. Alongside this, she has Farmina Chicken & Pomegranate grain-free dry food left out for her all day. Having looked at the raw food posts on here, I see people adding nutritional supplements to their raw food mixes, which has not been suggested to me by her breeder. Is this because the Farmina dry food is okay as a supplement? I am completely new to this so any advice is welcome... thank you. :)

Talien

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
If she's being fed a diet that includes organ meat and bone then she shouldn't need the supplements, that's added to mixes that are not nutritionally complete on their own.

I would, however, suggest ditching the dry. Even if it's "high quality" grain free Cats generally do better with a set feeding schedule. It's also harder to notice abnormalities in eating patterns, which can be an indication of general health, if they have access to dry food 24/7. It only exists because it is relatively cheap and convenient for humans.

Feline Nutrition Foundation has a lot of good info on what is and isn't good to feed to Cats, and why.

LTS3

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
Lots of raw feeders discourage feeding both dry and raw. Dry has a longer digestion time while raw has a quick digestion time so in theory constipation could occur if the raw is trying to move along but the dry food is taking it's time.