Gabapentin-withdrawal? Vet Claims No

cc0000

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
My cat, Tigger has been taking Gabapentin for 2 weeks. He was on .7ml twice a day for a few days before the dose had to be lowered to .35ml twice a day due to him being zombie-like.

The vet said NOTHING about weaning him off, despite my questions and concerns. And, sure enough, the first day without it he is having diarrhea and vomiting. I've called them and they claim it's not possible that it's withdrawal and I just don't trust them or believe it is just a coincidence. They are an ER vet. No other vet is open until tomorrow.

They said to bring him back if he continues to be sick. I don't know what to do.

Sonatine

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise
Eh, gabapentin can definitely cause withdrawal in humans, so it's usually tapered on or off. I am far from an expert in the effects of gabapentin on cats, though.

However, it's worth noting that a 30 second google search produced results that all suggested that it can cause withdrawal in cats as well as humans. Those sites also said that at least diarrhea can be a side effect anyway, but it would seem odd for him to suffer it only immediately after cessation.

Perhaps you need a second veterinary opinion.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

cc0000

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
I am consulting with his vet tomorrow. If he gets sicker, of course I'll have to take him back to this vet. It is the only vet around open on a Sunday since they are for emergencies.

cc0000

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
I just looked over the ear ointment Tigger was just put on for a yeast infection, Quadritop, and saw that vomiting and diarrhea can be side effects. I never thought ear drops could cause this so that may actually be the issue. Regardless, I am calling his regular vet early tomorrow as I need another expert opinion.

silkenpaw

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise