Frustrating

Emthecatwoman

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I'm new to cooking meals for my 13 year old kitty. She has been on dry food her whole life and we are ready to commit to a healthier lifestyle for her. The problem is, everything I've made (several variations of chicken, turkey, beef, fish with squash and greens) she will smell and run away. I've tried sprinkles of her dry food mixed in and she will literally starve all day until I give in and give her her food. Any recommendations on how to get her more interested? Much appreciated 🙏

mani

Moderator and fervent feline fan
Staff Member
Purraise
Making a good, balanced diet for cats is a very fine balance, and then to find something she will eat along with it is not at all easy.
You have a 13 year old who has been on dry food and it's all she knows. Have you tried introducing some quality commercial wet food first, with some of the dry? Many cats take a long time to adjust to home prepared/raw food and your girl is not even used to the texture/moisture content.

maggie101

3 cats
Top Cat
Purraise
If it's raw,not all cats like it. One of my cats does,other 2 do not. So I by canned meat

Maurey

Maine Coon Madness
Top Cat
Purraise
What, specifically, are you trying to feed her? Unless you’re using something like EZcomplete (or other mix of supplements), it doesn’t sound like a complete diet. Cats don’t need vegetables, either, though you may wish to add a small amount of squash or pumpkin purée into one meal a day for fibre. Fish isn’t a complete diet for cats, and can cause reliance, so I’d suggest staying away from it, at least until she’s eating other proteins well.