Frenemies? Arch nemeses? Pals?

Willowwombat

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Okay, so here we are six months in, with Dude (9-year old male adoptee) and Willow (8 year old female).

They are pretty peaceful together, and I'm pretty sure they're playing, but because I'm new to this two-cat thing I'm not sure and I have a couple of questions.

Up until recently Willow chased Dude a lot, obnoxiously so, and though it was friendly enough, though sometimes she would swat at his butt as he ran away and he would get upset. There hasn't been much hissing and no growling at all, so I figure they are fine, as in safe, though Willow can be an absolute pest sometimes and he climbs up his cat condo to get away -- and sometimes afterwards she walks up to him and flops over onto her back, so she really is friendly, and I think he knows it even though he often backs away from her. She hasn't been chasing him much lately, which is a relief for the little guy, I'm sure.

Anyway, he has finally manned up and has started to assert himself a little bit. So the new behaviour is that he'll hide somewhere really close to her -- she has to know he's there, I think -- does the full bum-wiggle, charges up to her and swats her in the face, and races off She usually looks pretty stunned, like she can't understand how the tables got turned, but she doesn't react badly. Usually she'll ambush him in the same way later on. I mean they both do it, but it's so good to see Dude feeling confident that she isn't going to hurt him.

Is this play? Does it seem like they could end up being good friends? I'd love to have them be really good buddies.

Alldara

TCS Member
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
Sounds like play from what you're describing. If you're finding them following one another, it can be a little bothersome over time to the other cat, so I'd recommend adding an extra okay session to the day and some enrichment that doesn't involve bothering one another.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter