Found feral kittens, don't know what to do

KittyPhoenix

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hello all! This is my first time on this forum, and quite frankly my first time dealing with anything cat related. About 2 weeks ago, I had discovered a kitty family behind my house. There is mama cat and 3 babies. As of now, I am thinking the kittens are around 5 weeks old? Maybe 6? They are still small and fuzzy, but are running around all over and jumping into bushes and such. Mama cat is around often, I've only seen her leave once. Often I see the family retreat under my house, so I am assuming that is where they sleep. The area they are in has rats, so that is where I assume mama gets her food (I have seen her catch a rat, so I assume this is a normal occurrence). No one feeds, but I have set out a water dish. Mama cat has drank from it, but not since I moved it. I moved it because it was practically on my lawn, and I didn't want someone to see mama and babies while they were drinking and bother them or try to take them. When I approached the dish and the family, mama cat hissed at me and retreated back under my house with the kittens. I am a bit afraid to go near her, and I also don't want to stress her out.

Now that I gave background, here is my question. I want the kittens to be socialized, but I am unsure how. I have been wanting to call the humane society or a rescue, but that isn't possible right now due to covid 19. I am also not in a position to take cats into my house, so whatever can be done will have to be outside. I don't have cat food, but I can get it off my neighbors if need be. Is there a way I can get close without upsetting mama cat? Or is it best I just leave them alone until I can call a service?

theyremine

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise