Food For Kitten With Diarrhea (already Getting Medication)

david68

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
It turns out that a kitten that turned up out of nowhere at my cat colony is only about 8 weeks old. For years, the only cats that have showed up at my colony have been adults, so I'm not an expert on kittens.

He's on Albon and Metronidazole for the diarrhea, and I've been feeding him canned food for kittens, which he is eating. But is there anything that would be easier on his tummy while he's recovering from whatever gave him diarrhea and terrible gas?

1 bruce 1

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
It turns out that a kitten that turned up out of nowhere at my cat colony is only about 8 weeks old. For years, the only cats that have showed up at my colony have been adults, so I'm not an expert on kittens.

He's on Albon and Metronidazole for the diarrhea, and I've been feeding him canned food for kittens, which he is eating. But is there anything that would be easier on his tummy while he's recovering from whatever gave him diarrhea and terrible gas?
What brand of kitten food is he on now?
I wonder if something (very short term) like boiled chicken if he'll eat it, or all meat baby food (no onions), or even tuna (pretty low fat, so helpful for GI problems).
Something like forti-flora probiotic would be very good to start giving and keep him on it for a week or better after the antibiotics are done.

StefanZ

Advisor
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
Yes unflavored pedialyte is essential as diarrhea causes salt losses.

Some nice probiotic could help some.

Goats milk or kmr it you want something really mild for stomach.

1 bruce 1

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
The Kitten Lady has a nice video and article about diarrhea in kittens. She recommends giving unflavored pedialyte to help prevent dehydration, and a probiotic, like fortiflora, like others have suggested.

Diarrhea — Kitten Lady