Flea Treating Apartment

garrln

Cat Father of Three
Kitten
Purraise
I adopted a 7 month old applehead(?) siamese cat named Haku, 4 days ago. At the end of the first day, I noticed flea dirt so I ended up giving him a quick bath to kill some of the fleas. I then isolated him from the other cats before he got to close. They had minimal contact but he really wanted to meet them. I vacuumed the areas he was in and threw away the bag. I kept him isolated in a big cage in the living room. The next morning I replenished my stock of revolution and treated all 3 of my cats, Haku going first. After that I proceeded to treat the whole house with flea spray and vacuumed everywhere. I then washed all their beds and blankets in hot water.

Am I overdoing it? I am overly paranoid because this is my first time experiencing fleas and I wanted to stop it before it spread to the whole house. My plan is to vacuum everyday and spray the house every few days for the next 3 or 4 weeks.

I would like to know if that is too much or if i should just slow down since I saw he had fleas the first day I got him and immediately isolated him. Thank you!

here is a picture of him right before I saw the fleas.

ashade1

Wild and Wonderful Animal Rescue Director
Top Cat
Purraise
I don't think it is too much! You have to treat fleas pretty aggressively! I run a rescue out of my home so feel like I am constantly trying to prevent a flea outbreak! I think with the spray you can spray now and then again in two weeks. It should wipe everything out!

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

garrln

Cat Father of Three
Kitten
Purraise
I don't think it is too much! You have to treat fleas pretty aggressively! I run a rescue out of my home so feel like I am constantly trying to prevent a flea outbreak! I think with the spray you can spray now and then again in two weeks. It should wipe everything out!