Flame point DLH! Any resemblances to actual breeds?

pinkman

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise
Hey all! 

And here is him with my friend holding him.

And here is him sleeping just now.

Anyways, I definitely think he is going to be long haired judging from his ear tufts. His nose/snout (?) did seem shorter than the other kittens I saw but honestly I don't know too much about kitten development so I can't judge. I'm curious to hear any reasons why the rescues may have labeled him as a Persian mix besides the fact that he is long haired. 

katluver4life

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
OMG!! He's soooooo adorable!! Congratulations!

I do know that most rescues just tend to generalize the "looks" of a kitten. So perhaps, as you say, it was just because he was long haired and so Persian mix was easiest.
He definitely does not have a Persian face, THAT much I do know, and I'm no breed expert, but have seen enough Persian kittens!
He is beautiful though, and lucky him that you found him.

maewkaew

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
  I don't think he has much Persian OR Siamese in him.       I think you are right,  he's an ( adorable) long hair moggy and there is really no knowing what his ancestry might be.   If he has any recent ancestors of a specific breed,   Ragdoll might be more likely

It's in the 2nd photo that he looks most Persian since the eyes look rounder ,  and in that one you can't see so much that his muzzle is very un-Persian.   Actually the eye shape, set, color and expression in that photo is  rather reminiscent of Himalayan Persians.        I suspect that he may have looked more like that when he was younger.   the long hair, pointed pattern,  big round eyes,   and before the muzzle started developing more.   So it might be he got labeled Persian mix as a younger baby.