Fish Oil

pearjas

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hello everyone. I have a 16 year old bombay cat that is in the early to moderate stages of kidney disease (she gets checked yearly). I've read a lot about fish oil and got vet approval. I bought her liquid fish oil and the dosage, etc is listed on the instructions but it says to not give it to her directly via the dropper tool (used to get the right dosage). Is it okay to put the oil in the cat's mouth and give that way (with another device) like I've had to use with antibiotics? For now, it's just on her food, but she always insists on having a full bowl of food and I do not know how long it will take to consume the food she has, nor can I monitor the dosage that way, etc.. so I was just trying to think of a better way to where I knew she was getting the fish oil at all...

Furballsmom

Cat Devotee
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise

Furballsmom

Cat Devotee
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
Can you utilize the juice from no sodium canned green beans? ... something like that?

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

pearjas

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
I guess I can contact the manufacturer. It said to either mix with food or give as is. I did try to give as is but my cat just sniffed it. haha.

I have been to that site quite often but didn't know they had a support group. Thank you!

Furballsmom

Cat Devotee
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
I see, would she let you syringe it? Are you comfortable syringing liquid? There are videos...
Or would that end up where you'd want to be in the bathtub ?

pearjas

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise