First Time Taming 2 Ferals!

DeniseK27

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Good day, cat lovers! This is my very first time taming/socializing ferals. A family friend goes to a nearby reservoir daily and feeds the ferals. She has TNR'd so many and in doing so, has saved so many kitties. She recently brought home two females approximately 5 months old. She had plans of bringing them to the vet for the spay, vaccines, and tests and then releasing them, but they were so pretty that I decided to take them. They were in a large dog crate at her house for 2 weeks before they went to the vet. In that time we made progress as far as pets during feeding into eventually little pets even without food. I had one of them playing pretty good too. Of course the vet visit must have been traumatic and then bringing them home to a new home as well. Unfortunately, I misjudged that they seemed pretty comfortable on the 2nd night, and my apartment isn't too big, so I let them roam seeing as though we made decent progress before the vet and they just seemed curious. Well, at 5am they were still trying to get behind things and knocking things over due to trying to find a way out. One went back in the cage to sniff so I closed the door behind her. The other one was hiding behind the couch for two nights only coming out to eat or use the litter box when she is absolutely sure we aren't around. I was able to reach into her hiding spot now, which is inside a wooden magazine table next to the couch, and feed her some food on a spoon. The one in the cage will eat in front of us no problem and we can pet while she's eating but that's as far as it goes. I just want to be hopeful that in time, they will both be comfortable here together. They have only been here since Tuesday so I know this is early on. I guess I'm just looking for some tips to use along the road. The dog crate is large and is in our living room with us (my boyfriend and I.) We watch tv on a low volume and i constantly talk to them in a s