First Time Foster Feral

CatswithDee

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello!

I'm only a few days away from potentially fostering a feral male, and I wanted to gather some advice from some of the more experienced feral fosters/adoptees out there.

He's a younger neutered male- extreme arthritis so unfortunately regular handling has to be initiated to give medication, and socialization is kind of his only hope. I am a student living in an apartment, and I could place him either in my rather large walk-in closet that is barely used and would be his safe space, a teeny bathroom, or just give him access to my whole room. I could prepare the whole room to let him roam, but I figured he would want to adjust to a smaller space first. He would always have access to the closet as a safe space. I would be provided with a feral cat den, cat gloves to handle him, and food to try and get him to eat (he isn't doing well in shelter and is losing weight). That being said- should I shoot for a typical feral cat den set-up? Adjust him to the closet? Shoot for trying to introduce him to the whole room sooner rather than later? Unfortunately I would have to be in it some of the time.
The shelter set-up is not working for him right now, and he has a deadline of 5 days, at which the end of I would be taking him in. He won't eat because of stress, pain, and discomfort, so I'm sure the confined space adds to that. Transferring him here to another wire dog kennel probably wouldn't help out much, but I know that's what's recommended.