First Time Feeding Stray/feral

Animal Freak

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Hello, everyone. I've been on this site for a little while for my own three cats, but this is my first time posting in the Feral/Stray section. When we first moved in this house, I didn't know we even had cats wandering around, but we've seen one lurking in the area. Well, I've only seen him once. I've been trying to figure out his schedule since, but to no avail. My mom has seen him a few times though not very often. At this point, I'm not sure if he's a semi-feral or a stray or what. He's shown no interest in approaching us and he normally walks away, but he doesn't immediately dart off or anything either. The only time I've seen him he seemed a bit curious, but also wary. However, I'm not sure how much of that was aimed at me or the dog. I've named him Jax though and he's a red tabby.

Anyway, I'm searching for a way to get him neutered for free. I've gotten a list of organizations and people from Alley Cat Allies; it's just a matter of contacting them now. But I've also decided that, if he really is a homeless cat, I'd like to start feeding him. I'm trying to figure out when he comes around so that I can do so and was thinking about putting some food out and sitting on the porch for a while this weekend. My problem is that I can't afford to keep wasting food if he doesn't show up, so I was wondering if you can reuse the food.

I'm also open to suggestions on brands. I'd like to do what I can for him, but I'm not making the money I need to pay for high quality food. In reality, I'm probably not in the right situation to pay for this cat's food at all, but I'm hoping to change that soon and I can't quite bring myself to watch him go hungry. If anyone has any affordable options, I'll be happy to hear it. Right now we have a really cheap bag of food on hand to start off with. I'll probably have to keep wet cat food to a minimum since it doesn't last long.