Finally Trapped My Feral - Then Let Her Go! Should I Re-trap?

sweetblackpaws

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise
I have been feeding a feral cat for several months and trapped her to bring her inside since I will be moving this summer (I feel she is dependent on me at this point). After only a few minutes in the trap, I freaked out and let her go because my heart was breaking as she yowled and threw herself against the trap. I had never seen a cat so afraid. Well, she was back for dinner the following night (this was three nights ago). It's been months of feeding and I still can't touch her. She has been spayed, by the way (ear tipped), so it's not urgent.

What do I do? Trap her again? She comes regularly, once or twice daily.

How long will she yowl for once she is in her Safe Room? I live in an apartment, so this is a concern.

Do I take her to the vet immediately upon trapping her (that sounds very traumatic, but I have other cats to consider)?

Will she lunge at me when I go into her safe room to feed her or will she hide instead?

I love the little gal, please help!

Last edited:

msaimee

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Many cats will not go back into a humane trap if they have been trapped before. You may need to borrow a drop trap, or somehow lure her into your house. Be sure and scrub the trap well so the smell of fear isn't still in it. Try to camouflage it by putting a brown or green towel on the bottom inside of the trap and put dirt and twigs inside. If you are taking her immediately to her safe room in your house, then it shouldn't be too traumatic for her to be in the trap for the minute it takes to get her into your house. Of course any animal is going to be scared and struggle once the trap door closes. When you cover the trap with a towel or blanket, they calm down rather quickly.