Feral Not Eating

Life.Love.Cats

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi there! I have been caring for a senior (12ish y/o) feral for about 18 months. He is 100% deaf, only has 1 eye, and is very scared of humans but does respond to me a bit. He has learned to eat and sleep inside my lanai, and will stay in there all day if it's raining. Unfortunately there is a lot going on behind my townhouse (trees being cut down, stumps being ground, painters, commercial lawnmowers) and when he recently started limping, I decided that if I was ever going to try and move him inside, this was the time. After his vet visit, I moved him into a 48" crate in my bathroom with his usual bed and a "towel tent" to hide in. After 2 days I gave him full access to the bathroom, and also my closet in which I placed a deckbox from my lanai he would often nap in, plus his favorite toys.

Unfortunately, he has done nothing but pace for 6-8 hours, and is refusing to eat or drink. I did have a mobile vet come and give him fluids yesterday, and I am offering him a ton of food options (dry, canned, baby food, freshly cooked salmon, treats, etc).

My big question is how long can I continue this with him not eating, and then have to put him back outside? I am worried about his health. Thanks for any insight you can offer.

Alldara

TCS Member
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
Don't put him back out! Your hard work will be lost.

Try to find something high reward to get him to eat like putting a Churu on a plate for him.

You can try some catnip and/or some cat pheromones like feliway.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

Life.Love.Cats

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Don't put him back out! Your hard work will be lost.

Try to find something high reward to get him to eat like putting a Churu on a plate for him.

You can try some catnip and/or some cat pheromones like feliway.
Thanks for the response. I've tried multiple Churu flavors, catnip + silvervine, and have a Feliway Optium plugged in the closet.