‘Feral’ Momma cat and kitten in backyard

Katelyn K

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Apologies if this is the wrong area to put this thread, this is my first time and post on this website.

As of late last week a momma cat (unknown age) and her kitten (guessing 3-5 weeks old as eating wet food I put out) have showed up in my back yard. As they seemed very scared and wary of me and my father, I’m assuming they might be feral.

As of right now, the kitten seems to trust me a little, let’s me pet them (don’t know the gender) and watch them play, though they still get spooked when I come outside too quickly and make loud noises. They also sometimes run a bit if I’m too quick.

The momma cat is still very untrusting of me. She understands I bring food and comes running when she’s around, but never to close to me. Once I put down the food she just slowly approaches and glares at me till I back off and go back inside.

I’m trying to gain their trust enough to take them to the local SPCA to make sure they have a good home in the future.

Though I’m wondering, is it possible to even gain the momma cat’s trust? And should I possibly separate the kitten from the momma to socialize them? Sorry if that last one sounds odd, I’m not too experienced will what I’m assuming are probably a feral cat and semi-feral kitten.

I’ve attached some pictures of them, hoping they work, again, first time on this website. And on the last note, does the momma cat look pregnant or just fat? I’m too inexperienced and paranoid to tell.

Attachments

Sarthur2

Cat lady extraordinaire
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
Aww, mama cat does look pregnant again already, poor thing. And too far along to terminate. Baby kitten is adorable.