Feral kitten foster meowing strangely

tbk123

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hi, I took a feral kitten in from my yard, it’s about 8 weeks old. It’s been about three days now since I brought it in.

I expected some crying at night but it’s started constantly yelling, it sounds angry and almost like barking? At first it would stop when I was nearby, but now it’s doing it when I’m in the room.

This is my first time socializing a feral kitten, I’m concerned maybe this means I messed up somewhere. I’m keeping the kitten in my bathroom, and when I got it it took a little bit of chasing so I probably scared it more than I was supposed to. (Also I have another cat if that’s relevant, but I’m keeping them separated and my cat is pretty relaxed all things considered.)

I’m concerned it will keep up the noise or that it has some underlying cause I don’t recognize. I haven’t gotten any sleep tonight because of it and I’m worried it’s also bothering my neighbors.

Babypaws

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise
Are you able to pick it up or pet it? Did you see any other kittens or the mother before you brought him inside? There were kittens born in our yard and I started feeding them and the mother. I’m guessing by the size they were about 8 weeks old. I brought one inside because it looked like he had something wrong with his back legs and took him to the vet. His legs were fine so I decided to keep him inside. When he was at the vet he got his first distemper shot and deworming. He was quiet the first day after but I was really surprised he was very friendly later. I kept him separated from my other indoor cats until he completed all his shots. He is so loving and is buddies with one of my 2 year old cats. Cats like people are all different and have their own personalities so either he misses his siblings/mother or maybe there is a health issue. How did he act toward you when he was outside?

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

tbk123

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise