Feral In Quarantine

afarquhar

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I had been caring for a kitten for the last few months (he's now 6 mos) and was finally able to trap him this week. I'm new to the trapping process so I called my local vet beforehand to see if they could treat a feral and to make an appointment (by that time the cat had a routine and I knew I could trap him in the morning). The vet said it was no problem and "they'd be ready". When I took him in, the gentleman at the front desk seemed a little nervous to take his cage which I should have taken as a sign. The next day I called to check on the cat and was told by the vet that there was "an incident and the cat wasn't dead but he was in quarantine." She informed me that during the transferring of cages the previous night, an employee reached for the cornered cat which then bit him. The vet called animal control, the employee had to go to the hospital, the whole bit. The vet made it seem that the cat was lucky to even be alive at this point and said legally that they must keep him quarantined for 10 days. If he does have rabies then it will become a public health issue and the employee will need rabies shots.

Yes, I am sorry the employee got hurt but I'm also upset the cat is being punished for acting like a wild animal. Poor thing must be so scared as he's been in a cage now for 4 days.

The vet techs should have been more prepared especially since I communicated multiple times that he was feral. I can't believe they put someone inexperienced (and someone who didn't have a rabies vaccination) in a room with him. I'm VERY concerned that if the cat does bite again they won't hesitate to call animal control again and have him euthanized :(

I would really like to have him released to me for the rest of his quarantine. I have already found a rescue organization that is more experienced with ferals for his sterilization,etc.