Feral Cats And Capstar

dragonlady2

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
I have been feeding a male feral cat for a few months now. Trapping is in its future, however, I would like to use capstar to help him with the fleas for now. Does anyone use capstar regularly to control fleas? How often do you give it to the cat? My indoor cats use Advantage, however, there is no way I would be able to use this with him and I would like to find a way to give him some relief.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

dragonlady2

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Thanks for your reply....how often should I give it to him? Weekly?

Jcatbird

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Hey! I just returned from my vet with some Capstar. I use it on every rescue as soon as I bring them in if they don’t go straight to the vet for a check. A pill lasts at killing fleas for 24 hours. ( I am taking this straight off the label from the vet.) I am told they are a bitter pill ( I want to know how they know that, did someone taste one? :lol:) I hide them in a little bit of baby food to get them to eat it. The kitties are pretty smart about avoiding them or spitting them out. I don’t give them anything else until they eat the pill even if I have to use the baby food more than once. After the pill they get full meals. It seems to work very well. So glad you are doing that for him! Fleas are terrible! :rock:

dragonlady2

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
I will try the baby food if necessary. He gets three wet meals with cooked chicken everyday so I should be able to slip it into one of these meals. Thanks for the replies.

marmoset

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise