Feeling Post Adoption Regret/Anxiety Please Help

ajohn707

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi All,

No judgements! I’m a junior in college and have always loved cats. I have never had one of my own and unfortunately did not grow up with any pets. However my roommate that just moved out had a cat that I adored and when she moved out I began looking into getting one of my own. I looked at a local shelter and decided to adopted a sweet 10 month old kitty from a shelter a little less than a week ago. The first night was great she was super sweet and mellow and went to sleep when I did. The next day she started to be a bit more destructive which I know that cats like to scratch things but she has plenty of toys and a scratching post. I would spray her with a squirt bottle but it did not seem to deter her at all. I ended up having to put her in the bathroom at night just to be able to get a couple hours of sleep which I felt awful about but had no other options. I’m a full time student and since most of my classes are online this semester I usually have quite a bit of work I have to get done throughout the day. However she was making it impossible to get anything done. Everytime I would pull out my laptop she goes straight for it and starts trying to bite the screen. I emailed the shelter I adopted her from and asked them what to do and they said to put her in the bathroom when I need to do work or sleep. I set up her bed, litter box, food, and toys in the bathroom but she would just cry and cry which made me feel awful. I keep breaking down into tears and feel as though I might not be the right home/person for her. I’ve had a pit in my stomach ever since and feel as though a part of me is screaming MISTAKE. I’m debating on returning her to the shelter but feel like an awful person for even considering it. Did anyone else go through this after adopting? Should I return her to the shelter? Please no judgements! I’m trying to be the best cat mom I can but I’m at my wits end and