Feeding Non-diabetic Cat Purina Dm

RoryM

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello there!

I am a pre-veterinary student with an interest in animal nutrition, so of course after I got my first cat I went crazy trying to make sure I feed her the best possible diet. My main concern has been keeping her protein levels high and the carbohydrates low as cats are obligate carnivores. I do feed her both canned and dry food, although I focus more on the canned food because of its higher moisture and protein contents. I have exposed her to a bunch of different textures and flavors, but have recently settled on feeding her Royal Canin kitten thin slices in gravy as she absolutely loves it. However, she is about to reach her first birthday so I am on the lookout for an adult food.

This may sound strange but this is the plan I have come up with and I am wondering what your opinions on this will be. I have decided to feed her Purina DM (canned and some dry) because of its very high protein content and decent ingredients list. I received some as a free sample from work and I already know she enjoys it. I can't find a good reason to not do this but y'all may have some ideas that I haven't though of yet.
Let me know what you think!

Kieka

Snowshoe Servant
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
My primary concern would be the soy protein and corn in the food. But, to be blunt, none of it looks good and I wouldn’t feed it even if it was free.

To just cover the two main issues, even though it is high in protein, food manufactures don’t have to differentiate between animal protein and plant protein. Since it does have soy protein as the second ingredient it is reasonable to assume that a large portion of the protein is a plant based. Current theory is that cats aren’t able to utilize plant based proteins as well as animal based protein. Essentially meaning that the usable protein content is overstated. Plant vs Meat - The Protein Feud - Feline Nutrition Foundation