Eating A Gluten Free Diet

blueyedgirl5946

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
I know there are several on the site that follow a gluten free diet. I have been doing so for about four years, maybe five. I read an article in a magazine yesterday that has me very concerned. It was about high levels of mercury and arsenic found in rice and how people following this diet need to be concerned about eating rice products. The gluten free pastas I have seen all are made with rice products. All the breads, bread mixes, pancake mixes, crackers are all made with white rice or brown rice flours. I looked on the FDA website and there is also caution there in several articles. Has anyone else read about this or are you even aware of this issue?

So now I am looking for a bread recipe made with some other kinds of gluten free flour. Do you have one. If so can you share it.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

blueyedgirl5946

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
I had hoped to get a response here, although I know this is a thread most people wouldn't know about. I found the name of a bread that can be purchased at the health foods store that has other flours. I also spent time on the internet and found two recipes to make bread with other flours. I am still investigating this study and trying to determine if I need to reduce the amount of these rice based products in my diet.

Columbine

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
I've never heard of this issue with rice/rice flours before. I can't help you with bread much, as I haven't successfully made gf bread for years (for some unknown reason my recipe suddenly stopped working...as did a friend's who uses a totally different recipe :headscratch:) I have found buckwheat sourdough here in the uk (by Suma, I think), but it's very expensive. Good though - probably similar to dark rye bread in taste/texture.