Ears and teeth

nena10

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
My vet recommended that I start brushing Rascal's teeth. How often do I do this and what do I use?

Also, I have been cleaning Rascal's ears with baby oil and cotton swabs. But the vet told me to use a solution instead? What is the best brand of ear cleaning solution I should buy? How often do you guys clean your cats' ears?

hell603

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
My Vet recommended the same for my Mom's girl Piper. She said to prush once a day and My mom uses a finger brush with a chicken flavored tooth past (other flavors are also available) - you can purchase of stores like Petsmart.

I have no experience with ears but I sure the other members will have experience with that.

Good luck!!

melissa

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
My Vet recommended using Mineral Oil to clean out my kitties ears when they had an ear mite problem. I think its supposed to be better for them than baby oil. I know there is a solution you can get at the Vet's, kind of looks like pink liquid soap. Why do you need to clean Rascals ears? Does he have mites? The only time I've ever had to clean my kitties ears is when they had mites and then I had drops to put in the ears too. The cleaner is designed to remove all of the mites' waste (that black stuff that builds up in there).

dtolle

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
I had to have Sunshine's ears cleaned when she had mites. They did it at the vets, and I had to take her back a week later for a second treatment. They didn't mention to me to continue to clean them, so maybe you should check with the vet pertaining to Rascal.
As far as the teeth, I don't brush hers yet. But I think I'll have to start........I've read that it is so important.

dtolle

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
Yeah, I've read something about that too. I also have seen certain foods that say "dental care"........wonder if it really works.

illusion

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise