E-collar After Spaying

mammameeko

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
My two year old Lynx-point was spayed last Tuesday morning(5/9), and I was told to leave the e-collar on for 7-10 days. Tomorrow will be a week since she was spayed and we are getting ready to drive across the country and I would hate for her to have to have this e-collar on while we are traveling in the car. Her incision looks the same as it did when we brought her home, not any worse or better. I tried to take the e-collar off yesterday and she went right for the incision. It makes me so nervous, I do not want her to hurt herself or for it to get infected. My husband keeps saying she will be fine because it has been 7 days, but I think I should push it to 10 days or more before I take it off. :dunno: This is my first time with a spayed cat so I am just looking for insight from someone with more experience. Thanks!

Last edited:

jcat

Mo(w)gli's can opener
Veteran
Purraise
to TCS!

How does the incision look? If it's completely closed with no inflammation, it would probably be okay to leave the collar off. Our shelter vet doesn't use e-collars at all after spay surgery; I've only seen two cases where cats' incisions have had to be bandaged because they were worrying the incision, and the bandages came off after a week.

Antonio65

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Hi, Have you any photo of the cut so that we can give you an idea?
I used the e-collar on a spayed cat only once, because the cat was going to bite the stitches, but she kept the collar on for about 5 days. Ten days seem a long time to me.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

mammameeko

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise