Dreaming of Stud Quarters

gayef

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
I've had a mindlessly busy day today - lots to do, but all of it requiring little or no intellectual involvement - so I've been running over some ideas for the stud quarters.

While yes, I am still a starry-eyed newbie when it comes to my cattery, I would like very much for my first breeding pair to interact on a daily basis, and only separate them during the heat cycle. What do some of you more experienced breeders think? Can this be successfully done?

When they must be separated, I thought that a nice wooden frame with screen mesh (just like what you have on your screened-in porch if you've got one of those) would do the trick. I have a large loft bedroom upstairs where I could isolate my boy without denying him interaction with his mate through the screen. There is also a tall ceiling that could accomodate the tall cat trees and a sunny southern-exposure half-round window that makes the bestest of sun-spots to languish in...*smile*

What have some of you done to make efficient quarters for your breeding cats? I would be real interested to hear your thoughts.

Thanks,

Gaye

sandie

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
I am just about to leave again for the cat show. I promise I will catch up and give you some input on Monday. I am pretty new to this but have had help and ideas from breeders in the fancy for 30 years or more.

comradekitties

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise