Dave The Stray With Fiv

pearjas

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hi everyone. I’m new here. I kind of wanted some opinions as I’m trying to do what’s best for a local stray but afraid I’m going to make a mistake. First off, I have a Bombay cat named Rachel. She’s 14 and very set in her ways obviously as she’s always been my only cat.

Dave is a local stray that was living on my porch. He is a Maine coon. Dave has an interesting story. He first appeared in February of 2017 and clinged to one of the other two local strays in the area that was around here all the time. They did everything together. Unfortunately, that stray passed away in October. My neighbors, who also watched over the 3 local cats (they practically lived at our houses) moved in November. So you could say Dave was kind of lost..

I did a bit of digging and discovered there was another family across the street that was going to take Dave in; had him neutered, got him chipped, dental work, collar, etc. He was coming in and out of their house via their doggy door until he just abruptly stopped coming back, which is when he started hanging out by my house.

The family that tried to take him in advised me of several facts about Dave the vet told them. First, Dave is about 7-9 years old (I was shocked). He also has FIV. I had to do a lot of reading on that. Well, Dave seemed content living on my front porch and I even bought him a heated house (which he doesn’t use). Due to this, I bought him a heated blanket/bed which he was using constantly. Here in Missouri lately, the temperatures have been hitting the negatives overnight, so the family across the street and I developed a plan to help make Dave’s winter a bit easier.