Cord Chewer

LSpector

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hi all -

So my 12 week old kitten Dillon has developed a lovely little habit over the past couple of weeks...chewing on AND through my chargers. So far he has chewed clean through one, completely damaged another, and judging by teeth marks in various cords, is going for more. I've never had this problem with a cat or kitten before so I am not totally sure how to approach this situation.

He has no shortage of toys, he gets his monthly MeowBox subscription filled with new toys and treats, a cat tree and scratching post, self-grooming post...you name it, this little one probably has it. I am also a student so it's not like I am working a 9 to 5 job either. He is alone for maybe 4 to 5 hours a day at the MOST. We do also have playtime where I am not distracted doing anything else. So I don't think it's a boredom thing.

My main concern is his safety. The cord he chewed through was plugged into the wall at the time so I have no idea if he was shocked (he never acted funny and has since been to the vet for vaccinations, so no need to worry about that) and I want to avoid him getting hurt. My secondary concern is the cost...chargers can get expensive :p

There are some things I can't unplug when I leave like my fans (my apartment has no air conditioning and it is far too hot and humid in my city to have them off). Does anyone have any tips on how to curb this behaviour? I mentioned it to my vet but she didn't really suggest anything. Thanks in advance. :biggrin:

susanm9006

Willow
Top Cat
Purraise