Congested Sounds After Bottle Feeding

DrinkeroftheWind

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello all!

So I have been bottle feeding kittens for 6 or 7 years now. I am a vet tech and have recently run into an interesting, and sometimes alarming, scenario with my bottle babies: occasionally after nursing on the bottle or the syringe, my bottle babies will sound like they inhaled the milk. They will sound congested and feel like they have a rattle to their chest. It clears up in about 5 mins or so but is quite worrying.
Since I'm a tech, the doctors I work for have recommended nebulizing 2 to 3 times daily. We have even prescribed antibitoics to be safe.
I don't know what causes this and neither do they. The kittens nurse on their bellies with heads elevated. They nurse well and cause suction on the bottle themselves. I do not squeeze it.
Any thoughts? Anyone else have this problem?
All kittens grow up and get adopted out with no problems. Just alarming qnd wanted to see who may know what it is causing this.
Thanks!

StefanZ

Advisor
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
Interesting to read your post. It confirms, sometimes such rattling is without bad consequences. As yes, it does happens now and then and we get scared every time.

And yes, sometimes they get pneumonia for real.

Nebulizing, is feeding with a sond directly into stomach? This is of course effective, but you must know how to do. And I have noticed even some vets dont know how to...
But its useful knowledge to get for someone whom often do rescue weak kittens.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

DrinkeroftheWind

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Interesting to read your post. It confirms, sometimes such rattling is without bad consequences. As yes, it does happens now and then and we get scared every time.

And yes, sometimes they get pneumonia for real.

Nebulizing, is feeding with a sond directly into stomach? This is of course effective, but you must know how to do. And I have noticed even some vets dont know how to...