Votes: 8 42.1%
  • Don't get one

Votes: 1 5.3%

• Total voters

auntie

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Hi! Thanks for including me; I am new to this message board. I would like some advice from cat people about choosing a kitten. I am first in line to choose between two purebred Siberian kittens, and I would love some advice about what to look for (apart from the obvious). Both kittens are female; one is darker w/black nose (seal lynx point) whom we will call A and one is lighter w/pink nose (tortie point) whom we will call B. They are both beautiful, although I sort of prefer the darker color. The breeder is a very nice and responsible person. For Siberian experts: yes, they are Neva Masq; their parents are from Russia.

My house is a small one-story house, where I live with my husband (who has allergies, hence the Siberian cat rather than a rescue), our somewhat difficult seven-year-old daughter, and our current only cat, Little Kitty. Little Kitty is a 4-year-old retired breeding female, who is a beautiful, tiny Balinese. We've had her since Sept 1. She has an advanced case of stomatitis, and just had all her teeth removed in two phases. The stomatitis does not appear to be resolving well, and she has some other health problems as well which may be related to side effects from the meds we're trying to give her. I am very burned out taking her to the vet all the time, the only silver lining being that she loves the vet's office and resident cat. LK does seem to love other cats, which makes sense since she was brought up as a brood queen. Naturally, though, I'm afraid of stressing her out beyond what's reasonable--I have heard that no cat is happy to see another one come into the home.