Cat's tail degloved by accident. HELP. (Warning. Graphic Image.)

reedfaircloth

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
My cat's tail was cut off by the door on accident today.

At first, I noticed about a half and inch of    his tail hair at the door, no blood. Then I saw that my cat's tail was  bleeding with  4 centimeters of "bones" exposed.

I want to take him to a vet but I have no  money  or income. I can buy hydrogen peroxide, neosporin, and gauges but I have no  knowledge nor courage to apply pet medical treatment  in fear   creating more pain for him. This never happened to any of  the cats I've had  before him so this is the first time.

It's been  10 hours since  the injury occurred. He looks okay but I know he's in pain.  He switches his sleeping/resting position  sometimes  so that his tail bone  doesn't have contact  with anything because it's painful for him.

Would  my cat be  okay?  What would happen  after weeks  of not going to the vet.  Due to financial issues, what can I do to help him other than giving him more tender loving care, food he likes, and     ensure the house is clean so less infections can occur. Even if it's fully healed someday ( with no fur or skin that grew), would he still  feel pain at the end of his tail?

Last edited by a moderator:

kkoerner

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise
You need to take this cat to the vet. The tip of his tail needs cleaned, amputated and bandaged properly. And he needs pain meds!

Is there someone who can help with the bills? Payment plan with the vet? Credit card?

He really needs to go. :(

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

reedfaircloth

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
For now,  I don't have any means such as a summer part-time job to pay for the vet nor a driving license  for transportation  for  a job yet.

I'm learning to drive and know the basic, except parallel parking so  it might take a few more days to learn  that skill.