Cat with possible broken leg

luvcats222

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hi,

I have been caring for feral cats for five years now and several live in my yard. I already have 4 in the house one of which had a broken leg back in 2014. I nursed him for 4 months in a crate/room. He is a wonderful house cat now. Well, there's another one that's been here for about 2 years. My question is what should I do? I can't take in another one. He has shelter in my yard and gets fed twice a day. Will he just rest and heal on it's own? I know it's vulnerable, but that would make sense if it had to leave for shelter/food. I have another one in my house now in a crate that has a lump on it's neck. I took him to the vet because he's been mine for 5 years now and I just couldn't at least see if there is an easy fix before I decide to put him down. They lanced it and it did not leak fluid, but blood instead. They gave him a two-week dose of antibiotics to see if has any effect. I can't afford to test for cancer and/or even treat him afterwards. One trapping and that's it, so we decide in a few days. He's been losing weight and has some stressful breathing (not when resting though). So I'm so distraught about that and now I see another favoring it's leg. I had another one two years ago who limped as well and then it was better within two weeks. He is still well.

This is just too much stress and an expense I wasn't expecting. I just can't do this any longer. I cried for three days knowing that this six year old may have to be put down.

Do you think I can leave the one with the limp or should I put him down?

catapault

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise