Cat Reintroduction

SirenSong

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
I posted a little while ago asking for advice about whether or not I should choose to separate my two cats (who had a rocky relationship) after a recent breakup, leaving one with my ex and taking one. After hearing what you had to say, I decided to take them both and give them another chance with a proper reintroduction and see how they did on neutral territory. It's been a week and so far, I am cautiously optimistic.

I've been keeping them separate almost 100% of the time but I have been switching their "territories" daily so they become accustomed to each other's scents and so they become accustomed to sharing territory. I have a HUGE master bedroom so I have a full cat set up in there and a full cat set up in the rest of the house. I rotate who stays with me in the bedroom every night. I have also been placing their food bowls on opposite sides of the same door, so they have been eating near each other through the door for the better part of a week.

Over the last 3-4 days, I have also been allowing them to look at each other for a few minutes at a time (I just open the door a little while they are both standing near it so they can see each other). I always stand between them and have been stopping them from approaching each other so far but they are usually close enough that I can pet them both, so I always pet them and tell them they're being good kitties so they learn to associate each other with getting love and attention.