Cat Had A Seizure Please Help

A.w

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
I woke up this morning and thought it was odd that my eldest, Mimi, wasnt in bed with me. I wenr looking for her and found her in the basement seizing. We rushed her to the vet where they told me she was in critical condition. She's still there in the incubator warming up and coming off valium.

I have no idea how long she was down there for and im so scared it was hours. I cannot stop crying. She tried to snuggle with me three times in a row last night and i just pushed her away and my heart is absolutely shattered in millions of pieces.

I have no idea what to expect, what to think, or what to do.

mikameek

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise
While I have no experience of seizures in cats (I unfortunately do with humans), I wanted to let you know I am so sorry you’re going through this. Don’t feel guilty, you had no way of knowing this would happen and right now she needs your support and love. I know you’ll be there for her to love her in this moment and I guarantee she knows she has been loved through all of this. I am so sorry this has happened. I will keep Mimi in my thoughts. :vibes: Please keep us updated as I will be thinking and worrying about Mimi too.

silkenpaw

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise
I agree you shouldn’t feel guilty. You had no way of knowing the seizure was coming. You got Mimi the help she needed and she knows you love her. Right now, you need the vet find out what caused the seizure and get her the appropriate treatment.

Good luck and let us know what happens.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

A.w

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Update:
She's had another little seizure but they caught it in time and stabalized her quickly. They said her bloodsugar was low which i find odd considering the fact they gave her sugar previously to bring it up since it was low to begin with.
I'm hoping this is diabetes related and she recuperates quickly and be back home where she belongs.