Cat Doesn't Like Variety :/

broutilde

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi guys,
It's been a long time and I would like your advice.
I have been feeding my kitty homemade raw food for a more than a year but after a visit to the vet, we realized that my cat may be allergic to the chicken protein.
I will switch to other proteins and will stop chicken but in the meantime, I bought some very good quality local homemade raw food for him (venison, beef, lamb and kangaroo) until I can receive my red meat order (I'm a chef so I can easily get organic grass fed lamb or beef).
Yes, the brat is spoiled.
Anyways, main issue here is that he's not touching his new food AT ALL. I tried everything: mix with the chicken, smother the food on his paw, add some nice "toppings", treats... Nothing works.
It's been one day and he has touched anything; and the food is going back and forth from the fridge to his plate.
I'm out of options.
What would you do?

daftcat75

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Many cats don't like red meat. Can you try turkey, duck, or rabbit? My Krista has a chicken sensitivity. Turkey and duck are different enough for her but rabbit with salmon oil is her current favorite. Salmon oil has turned a "likes it okay" into a "cleans the plate every time."

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

broutilde

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
My vet recommended to remove poultry alltogether as they could also trigger that allergy, that's why I wanted to switch to red meat. I read that duck is not a good option though, is that true?
Thank you for your help

broutilde

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Unfortunately my cat is not a big fan of salmon oil, more like a "likes it okay" kinda thing.

daftcat75

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise