Cat Brings Me Toy Mouse

• Thread starter Deleted member 10013100
  • Start Date
D

Deleted member 10013100

My cat (2 year old, female) has started bringing me her mouse toy (hyper realistic and it squeaks when touched).

She carries it in her mouth to me, drops it at the base of my feet, then lets out a small meow.

I initially assumed she wanted to play so I started playing but she wanted nothing to do with it. I tried a variety of toys! Is it possible she thinks this is a real mouse and is bringing it to me as a gift?

I read online female cats do this to feed their young.

Thanks!

abyeb

Charlie's Purrson
Veteran
Purraise
I think she probably realizes that it’s not a real mouse (from the scent), but that doesn’t stop her from wanting to offer it to you as a “gift”. I’ve heard of cats doing this before, it means they’re friendly and social, which is a great thing!

Just out of curiosity, have you tried throwing the mouse when she brings it to you? She might retrieve it and then you could play fetch with her! Some cats can learn fetch quite easily, it really depends on the individual cat’s personality. I’m thinking, though, that since your cat is already bringing this toy to you, that she might enjoy fetch.

dragoriana

MajesticFloof
Top Cat
Purraise
I've heard that in relation to the young that they do it to show their kittens how to hunt, but i've never witnessed this irl.

Violet will drag the entire feather wand through the house while meowing loudly, drop it, then meow until I come to her, thank her and give her a scratch on the head. All I know is one of the reasons is exactly what you said, she is bringing a gift. Showing her kill and wants recognition that she did a good thing.