Cat Always Chooses Roommates Over Me

Kvla

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
My cat has some past trauma with me, regarding her nail trims/caps and aggression issues. It's a long history and can be seen by simply scrolling through my old posts. I'm a college student, so I've always had roommates while living in college. It's cheaper this way, but because of my cat I've been wanting to get my own place despite that being the bad choice financially.

My cat always chooses my roommates over me, and it makes me feel sad. I know that they're newer and do things a certain way that attracts the attention of my cat more, but it still hurts. We've had trouble bonding with either other these past 2 years, and still find that there has only been a small amount of improvement. What can I do to win her over?
I try to give her space, pet her only in spots that I know she likes. I am the only one that feeds her and I try to play with her 1-on-1 at least 30min-hour a day but sometimes she just isn't interested in me. My room is also cold, but I don't know how to make it warmer and more inviting for her to come lay in my bed instead of theirs. ):

Sorry I'm rambling, I just sometimes think that I do everything possible for her and yet she still would choose someone else. I feel like I'm just a dog person, because I have a hard time reading her cat signals, and knowing how to react. People tell me not to scold with a firm NO, and some people tell me to do that. My friends say the squirt bottle is magic, but others tell me not to use it. I've sought help from a behaviorist and spent a lot of money for it, yet only see minimal results.

Should I rehome her?? I would be sad and feel bad for her because I'm all she's known, but we do have trauma (stated by behaviorist) and she might be happier with someone else. But I don't know, and would feel weird rehoming her after 2 years. I also am a strong believer in pets are for life, which also makes this difficult.

neely