Can't Tame Feral...i Am Near Tears...need Advice

sweetblackpaws

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise
Some of you are familiar with the feral I have been feeding for several months and trying to tame because I am moving in a few months.

I probably will have to break my lease due to the "element" that is moving in and the noise levels, etc. I wanted to bring my feral with me (I also have other housecats). She has been backsliding I assume due to the chaos in the building of late. She won't eat near me, and when I put the cat trap out to get her used to it, she won't eat until I go inside.

This is going backwards because she was eating very close to me only recently. I am not sure the reason for the setback and I am sad and frustrated and I don't have much time. :frown:

I really want to bring her inside, but I don't want to traumatize the poor little thing. I don't understand why she acts like she doesn't know me anymore. :confused2:

Please, what would you all do? :cloudy:

She has been spayed, she has the tipped ear.

shadowsrescue

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
Remember when working with feral cats it's often 1 step forward and 2 steps back. Anything could have set her off. If there is chaos that is certainly the reason. She is frightened so all of her senses are heightened.

Once you bring her inside, you can certainly expect many set backs. It can take a feral cat a very long time to adjust to indoor living. I have brought 5 inside the house over the past 5 years. Some have adjusted quickly while one of mine took over a year.

Bringing her inside will traumatize her to start. Yet many can learn to adjust to indoor living with lots of time, patience and not setting yourself up for lofty expectations. It is a day by day process.

It would be very sad for you to leave her behind as she depends on you for food. If you do have to leave her, hopefully you can find someone to take over feeding her.