Can you register a CFA kitten with TICA?

nekochan

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Hello!
I am new to show stuff and I have a question... If you have a purebred kitten registered with CFA, is there a way to apply for TICA registration, or do the parents have to be TICA to get TICA registration? I tried looking it up on TICA's website but I could not find that information in their registration info PDF or elsewhere...

goldenkitty45

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
If you have a CFA registration you can register the cat/kitten in most other associations. Its just a little higher on the fees if the parents are not registered in the other association.

You might want to call TICA headquarters and ask them what forms you need and how much it would be. Some associations you will need a certified copy of the pedigree or at least list all the background cats WITH their registration numbers in CFA.

That's what I had to do with Charlie - he was only CFA registered and I wanted to also show him in ACFA - but had to get a complete copy/info of all the background cats - it was 3-4 generations of ancestors.

epona

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
TICA are pretty good at dealing with that sort of thing (at least their UK/Europe section is!) I think there's a bit of form filling and papers/pedigree probably have to be sent off but I know plenty of people who have done it without too much bother, breeders included which involves registering the entire cattery from scratch!... best bet is to phone them up and ask about the process, again they're usually pretty helpful

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

nekochan

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise