Callie and Anna

thanatos0042

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
So, I lost Anna last Thursday. These two cats always kept pretty closely with each other. Callie is obviously a little calico cat. She's about 5 or 6 I believe. She's was feral originally, but she's very tame and sweet now.

I can pick her up, though she doesn't to be held for long. She will sit in my lap and roll around while I pet on her. She'll come to me when I call...when we had the big freeze or we have really bad weather she is usually close by or in the feral fort.

But since last Thursday, I've kept her inside. I'd just break entirely if something happened to her, especially so close to losing Anna. We are debating trying to transition her into an inside cat. Our other inside cats know her and just pretty much leave her alone.

I'm not sure how successful or possible that is. I've never tried it before and I've read posts and articles where some people have had success and others failure.

Anyone done this? So for the days inside, she doe go outside into our enclosed catio, but it doesn't seem to make her feel better. I'm not sure how much may be missing Anna and how much might be with being locked up lol. She cries and yaowls at night, it can actually interrupt sleep. I can come down and lay back in my recliner with her and she stops for awhile until she gets up to wander off.

I feel a bit like I'm torturing her for her own good, because I want to make sure the dogs aren't coming back and we've had bad weather anyway. But I am torn.

Her and Anna were really the only ones I ever brought inside due to bad weather or other dangers we knew about. Neither liked to be inside more than a few days a time. So it's not like I am considering doing this with them all. She is just especially tame and now alone without Anna.

Any thoughts or advice?

Cat McCannon

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise