Bumps On Cat’s Chin?

Rachelwolfe

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
We recently noticed these two bumps underneath of our 1 year old cat’s chin. He is going to visit the vet tomorrow, but I’m curious if anyone else has experienced this and what it may be?

59DD8A1D-1225-4491-99FE-CE2B84B99D78.jpeg

6929613D-324A-49C2-AB21-FED38B77A2A3.jpeg

denice

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
It looks like acne. Stainless steel bowls can help. My vet told me I could use Stridex pads to clear it up, I think just plain soap and water will also help.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

Rachelwolfe

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Thanks! They use stainless steel food bowls, but have a plastic water fountain bowl. Might have to look for a metal one!

Caspers Human

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I agree. It looks like acne and it looks like it's getting a little bit inflamed.

Feline acne is fairly common. It happens to cats for similar reasons it happens to humans. It's usually nothing to worry about.

I'm not an expert but, from my experience, your vet may drain it and apply some medication. You might also get some medicine to apply at home. However, that is my worst-case scenario. The vet might simply tell you to keep it clean and watch it.

Casper got acne and we had the vet look at it, too. She said to keep his water and food bowls clean and it will clear up by itself. She also said that cats sometimes get acne if they chase and eat bugs and things like that. (Casper is a bug chaser. ;) )

We bought some stainless steel pet bowls from the dollar store. They were so cheap that we bought six of them. We put one of them down for his dry food and we use another one for his wet food then the rest go in the cupboard. Whenever we freshen his food he gets a clean bowl from the cupboard and the used ones go into the dishwasher. This way Casper always eats out of a fresh, clean bowl every day.