Bring Feral With Me Or Leave Behind?

sweetblackpaws

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise
I have been feeding a feral for about 3 months and I will be moving out of state in a few months. Should I trap her and keep her or leave her behind? She is a true feral - I cannot get more than a few feet from her, but she shows up for food twice a day. I live alone with three other cats so she would be stressed at first, but at least she would be safe. Or do I leave her? There is no one else to feed her when I leave, so that is not an option. There are two options only: Trap her/keep her or leave her behind. She is currently in a wooded area behind my apartment building and is not in eminent danger. Btw, she has been spayed because she has the ear notch.

Sarthur2

Cat lady extraordinaire
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
Trap her and take her with you. She depends on you now. She'll need several months to adjust before being allowed outside again or she may get lost. Think about bringing her in now to begin the process.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

sweetblackpaws

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise
Yeah, I had better start now. It won't be easy - I am moving from one apartment to another, so I will have to do the ole' sneak-a-roo since most places only allow 2 cats, but like you said, she has come to depend on me. I just hope the trapping doesn't traumatize her.

Kat0121

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
Yeah, I had better start now. It won't be easy - I am moving from one apartment to another, so I will have to do the ole' sneak-a-roo since most places only allow 2 cats, but like you said, she has come to depend on me. I just hope the trapping doesn't traumatize her.
Thank you so much for caring about this little girl! :hugs: