Bengal breeding - question!

KW.Bengals

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I am fairly new to the world of registered breeding (this is our very first litter, although we have dealt with cat pregnancy and birth previously). What I'm wondering is, when breeding your male and your female(s), do they all live together or are they separated? I ask this because currently, ours all live together and our male (approximately 10 months old) is just starting to show signs of wanting to breed (smelling the queens, trying to mount, yowling etc). He has tried for the past few days with our queen who is currently in heat and as soon as another cat (our other queens) go near them or if he sees a human, he instantly stops and won't go near her again for at least a few hours, usually more. We do have a nursing/kitten room set up so I'm wondering if it would be better to seperate them from our other queens for a few days and have them together in our nursing room (no other cats would be aloud in, there is a door that closes when nessecary). Do you think this would help? They are purebred SBT Bengals, not sure if that makes a difference in terms of breeding ☺
Thanks in advance!! I've attached a photo of our male and one of our queens because I truly can't help but show them off 😻 we absolutely LOVE our charcoals!!
IMG_20211112_064411_872.jpg

di and bob

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I'll wait for the experts to come on, but he may just be a little too young and inexperienced to breed successfully.

Maurey

Maine Coon Madness
Top Cat
Purraise
Letting studs live with intact queens is generally very inadvisable. Doesn’t allow you to control when your queens mate. You generally don’t want your queens mated whenever they go into heat, they often go into heat long before they can be ethically bred (cats under a year aren’t really mature enough to have kittens), same for your stud, given your breed. Your boy is too young to be used as a stud, even if he can do the deed.