Balancing premade with home made raw?

saitenyo

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
I'm just starting out a raw diet for my cats, and I admit I'm still awfully nervous about the prospect of preparing and balancing my own home made diet. It's funny, I pride myself in my skills in balancing my own diet and am always the type to give human food advice to friends and family, but I still feel so nervous about doing it for my cats! I'm probably overthinking it. I'm trying to gather as much info as possible to help me feel more confident, so I've been posting around at a lot of different places.

In any case, to help ease some of my nervousness, I'm trying to start with a combo of premade raw (Primal) and home made raw. I feel like the premade will give me a bit of a nutritional safety-net while I'm building confidence in my own diet-balancing skills. For the moment the cats are on all-Primal until I can account for all the supplies I need and get a menu worked out. I plan on doing frankenprey-style feeding.

I was wondering if anyone else here feeds like this? Is it difficult to balance? Anything I should be wary of? I'm still debating whether I want to try to prepare "complete" meals of home made raw each time, or feed amounts gradually over the week. Would that make much of a difference?

initforlove

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
this is what I do

I buy pet mince from the abattoir here locally for $2-00 a kilogram

it is fresh meat with nothing added and it is minced that day

I have found that meat from a butcher is very smelly so I dont buy from a butcher

http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o...y/R0012065.jpg

I add wholemeal bread for the b group vitamins and fiber

http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o...y/R0012066.jpg

tins of sardines in tomato sauce for humans or tin of any fish for human [they actually like the tomato sauce in the tins but it is nothing like ketchup in a bottle] this adds calcium from the bones to the meal