Baby kitty rescue

gert452000

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
I have never done this before. I hope that I am following the prescribed format.
On Sunday morning, at 4:15 I was waken by the sound of a pathetic cry for help from a cat. Because I live in the deep woods I needed to wait until almost dawn before I could investigate this poor baby's cry for help.

When I found the baby I was dismayed to see that it was just about brand new. The cord was still attached to his little tiny body. The cord was dry but it was there.The baby couldn't have weighed more than a couple of ounces.

Here is my question: I have been mothering this baby since Sunday. Every couple of hours I would use an eyedropper to give him some milk. The eyedropper wuld be about 1/4 full and he would get about 3 or 4 of them. I would know it was time to feed him becaause he would start to cry and I knew when to stop because he would fall back to sleep.

We have a "cat house" that my husband built for other cats who sometimes pass through. It is open to the outside but still protected. I kept the baby in there. I kept him there hoping that his mommy would come and look for him. I tried to give him to the mommy's that are about right now and they rejected him. I also kept him there because with our a/c on it was warmer there than in the house and I thought he needed the warmth.

He died tonight. What I want to know is what more could I have done, what should I really have been feeding him and how often, why would a mommy abandon her baby this way, could I have been successful in trying to save this baby and should I try again if it happens again or just ignore the cry for help?

I am feeling very distressed by this and any help I could get would be appreciated.

Thank you.
gert452000

airprincess

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
we just had another member lose a couple of really young babies. they were older than yours but still very young.